Colorado State Facts

Colorado became the thirty-eighth state on August 1, 1876.

State Capital: Denver, founded 1858

State Name: The State of Colorado is named after the Colorado River; from the Spanish word colorado, which means ruddy or red

State Nickname: Centennial State or The Silver State

State Flag: Three equal horizontal bands of blue, white and blue symbolize the state’s blue skies and mountain snows. In the center of the flag, a red “C” represents Colorado and is curved around a yellow ball that signifies gold’s importance to the state

State Motto: “Nothing Without Providence”

State Bird: Lark Bunting

State Animal: Rocky Mountain Bighorn Sheep

State Flower: Rocky Mountain Columbine

State Tree: Colorado Blue Spruce

State Gem: Aquamarine

State Song: “Where the Coumbines Grow”, by A.J. Fynn

Population: (2000 census): 4,301,261

Major Cities: Colorado Springs, Denver, Grand Junction, and Pueblo

Major Businesses and Industries: Agriculture, mining, manufacturing, and tourism States that border Colorado: Wyoming and Nebraska to the north, Nebraska and Kansas on the east, Oklahoma and New Mexico on the south, Utah and Arizona to the west

Highest Point: Mount Elbert, 14,433 feet

Lowest Point: At the Colorado and Kansas border, along the Arkansas river–3,350 feet

State Area: 104,091 square miles. The eighth largest in the United States

National Forests and Parklands: Twelve National Forests–Arapaho, Grand Mesa, Gunnison, Pike, Rio Grande, Roosevelt, Routt, San Isabel, San Juan, Uncompahgre and White River are completely within the state. Colorado shares the Manti-La Sal National Forest with Utah. Rocky Mountain and Mesa Verde are the state’s two National Parks, and there are seven national monuments

Counties: Colorado is divided into 63 counties

U.S. Representatives: Colorado elects 6 members to the House of Representatives